And so the pessimist returns.
Her hair is unkempt, the circles under her eyes more prominent than ever. She seems to be walking a little bit slower, but that could be caused partially by a recently relived injury. For some reason she’s been dedicating most of her attention to the weather other than focusing on more important things like when the last time she ate was or the time of night, but it’s okay because “it could be worse”, right?
Now, Our Lady Unlucky knows there are more tragic things going on in the world. She knows her recent troubles are nowhere near as seismic as those other things, but she can’t help but grow tired of waking up every morning knowing something to top off yesterday’s misfortunes is waiting for her in the hours to come. Just in the past two days her injury has been enhanced, she’s run out of medicine, she’s got a point at work for something beyond her control, she’s grown to hate her job, and she’s homesick beyond all reason. (But really, when you leave a place like she’s left you would be too). So this obviously leaves Queen Cry Baby near, if not at, the end of her very tattered rope. In an attempt to soothe the pain (both physically and emotionally) she spends much of the day thinking of where she’d rather be. She’s come up with plenty of escape plans and alternates to where she’s at now, but for some reason she’s reluctant to actually pick one to go through with. Perhaps the uncertainty of what she’s picking. Or perhaps she’s fallen so far down a morose rabbit hole that she doesn’t want to find out what else can go wrong. Whatever it is, she’s in no mood to figure it out. She’s come to a point where she’s annoyed with it. She’s annoyed with not being able to really tell it to anyone other than [almost always] herbally enhanced best friend. Princess Pessimist isn’t looking forward to much more of anything anymore, and what makes the entire situation harder for her is she’s unsure of how to even present herself anymore.
And now that it’s been said, we’re going to pretend we never read a thing and we’re going to move on.
Let’s see if we can entertain your already tired eyes. Let’s talk vices. With plenty of time to sit, think, and observe people and their vices, one eventually realizes vices go beyond substances, so we’re going to start with a more fascinating vice- sexual projection. I’m not sure you understand what that means, so let’s elaborate. Everyone puts off some sort of “sexual vibe”, whether it’s absolutely risqué or pretty much non-existent. And here in sunny Florida, there are plenty of people with varying “vibes” but the ones that stand out (of course) are the louder and more sexually suggestive ones. At first we tend to assume these sorts of people are comfortable in their own skin and maybe really enjoy connecting with people. But after really thinking it out, you have to wonder if maybe there are deeper motives. If you’ve ever had the opportunity to be close with one of these people, then you probably know what’s really going on. These are the people who don’t want the attention, they need it. It makes them powerful. It feeds their ego; gives them something to brag about. Of course we don’t always approve of their bragging, but that’s okay to them simply because it goes from being a power thing to being an edge. Of all the vices, I really think this one is the worst. If you’re the one with the vice, you never really know what people really think of you or if the people you’re “projecting” yourself towards really like you for who you are or what you do. It’s much worse than substance abuse, maybe not in the medical sense, but at least in the personal sense.
Let’s leave it at that. If we dive further into the ocean of vices we run the risk of endangering ourselves. We run the risk of drowning in our own hypocrisy and damaging those close to us. Let’s say goodbye and promise to talk about this later (because we all know the chances of anyone bringing this up again are very slim).
Saturday, March 15, 2008
"After this I shall think nothing of falling!"
Straight from the mind of stephanie. sometime around 4:45 PM
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 Comments, Questions, and Concerns:
Post a Comment