Tuesday, March 31, 2009
Straight from the mind of stephanie. sometime around 10:41 PM 0 Comments, Questions, and Concerns
Monday, March 30, 2009
don't read this.
My fingers are typing faster than I'm thinking. I type and type and type and end up with long paragraphs and run-on sentences about everything imagineable (but somehow nothing at all) and when my mind finally catches up with my fingers I delete everything I've typed.
Nothing I'm saying is good enough.
Nothing I'm saying belongs here; it's all misplaced.
But then I'm presented with the problem of where to put it. Where the fuck am I supposed to say things? And who the fuck is going to listen?
Sure, sure; everyone says "call me" and "tell me" and "I want to know these things" but the truth is these are the people who have no idea what they're talking about. You only think you want to know because you have no idea what I have to say. You don't know what I'm not saying, what I'm thinking, what I'm doing. You think you want to know, but I think I would rather you didn't.
And this is where I circle back around and say "why do I even bring this shit up then?"
I make absolutely no sense.
Nothing makes sense right now, actually.
There are things, in my mind, that say one thing and then jump ship and say the exact opposite this.
I want this, but I really don't.
I know this, but I really don't.
I'm going to do this, but I'm really not.
I like this, but I really don't.
It's really annoying. Most of the time I'm tempted to just wipe everything away and start all over again. I get the feeling if I did that, I wouldn't really "start all over" again.
Ugh.
Delete
Ctrl+Z
Delete
Ctrl+Z
Delete
Ctrl+Z
Straight from the mind of stephanie. sometime around 1:12 PM 0 Comments, Questions, and Concerns
Saturday, March 28, 2009
Straight from the mind of stephanie. sometime around 11:36 PM 3 Comments, Questions, and Concerns
Sunday, March 22, 2009
"I know I scare you, Mom.
Straight from the mind of stephanie. sometime around 10:36 AM 0 Comments, Questions, and Concerns
Sunday, March 15, 2009
Straight from the mind of stephanie. sometime around 12:05 PM 2 Comments, Questions, and Concerns
Friday, March 13, 2009
I am in the purest of good moods right now!
I say that because I am genuinely happy at the moment but for no particular reason! It's the purest form of happiness to me because since there is nothing and no one responsible for my current happiness that means nothing and no one can disappoint me and turn that mood around, hypothetically speaking. It's lovely.
In other news, I learned more about No Child Left Behind in my Educational Psychology class yesterday. Can I just say what the fuck are we still doing this bullshit for?
Apparently Rod Paige, the man who is credited with creating NCLB, tested his little plan in Texas before being made the Secretary of Education in his state. Unfortunately, much of us are kept unaware of the fact that when he "tested" his plan and showed it to be useful, he prevented the lowest achieving students from participating in this testing.
Now, in case you don't know, NCLB is supposed to close the gap between higher achieving students and lower achieving students by improving the performances of those lower achieving students. I guess Mr. Paige felt that by ostracizing those students who have the highest need for improvement from his little test was the best way to prove that he could improve their test scores. Now, I'm going to step away from this before I start saying inappropriate things about this man. On to the way NCLB is regulated by the Federal Government.
Oh, that's right. It's not.
You see, all the Federal Government does with NCLB is looks at state test scores and if there is a 10% improvement in those scores from year to year, the state get's their money from the program. Sounds good enough, right; proof of improvement equals monetary reward. Again what much of us are unaware of, is the way these tests work (or if you ask me, don't work). Every state is responsible for creating these tests for students. The states are the ones who set the levels of Basic, Proficient, and Advanced. Stupidly, none of these tests are double-checked by the Federal Government, or even given any beneficial standards to go by. So not only is there a lack of similar standards across the state, but there is no way to show that these tests are even legitimate.
Let me put this plainly:
Because the states create their own tests with their own levels of proficiency, there is a huge opportunity for those levels to be manipulated (probably lowered) so that the state gets their money, regardless of whether or not the students in that state are really improving.
But something as shady and wrong as that would never happen here in America, right!? We're all moral citizens with only the best interest of everyone in mind, right?
Especially our politicians, too. They're always good people.
(For those of you lame in the mind, that was sarcasm.)
This is America; land of the fat, home of the brainless. And this stupid No Child Left Behind program is only encouraging that. It would be foolish to say that we have a good educational system here, and this NCLB does nothing but masks politics in such a way that parents and students are decieved into thinking the government has our student's best interests in mind. They don't, neither the federal or state governments. All they're concerned with is their money and keeping the rest of us under the impression that they're actually accomplishing something in the realm of education.
It amazes me to think that no one has stopped No Child Left Behind yet.
Straight from the mind of stephanie. sometime around 3:23 PM 1 Comments, Questions, and Concerns
Monday, March 09, 2009
I have a lot I probably should talk about, but I seem to be short of time.
Straight from the mind of stephanie. sometime around 10:25 PM 3 Comments, Questions, and Concerns
Wednesday, March 04, 2009
Straight from the mind of stephanie. sometime around 10:55 PM 0 Comments, Questions, and Concerns
Monday, March 02, 2009
M. I. A.
There is point of no return with some things; it's the point where no matter what you want to do, you're stuck doing what you've started doing.
I don't want to get there.
You can blame it on being a control-freak or delusioned or whatever you want, but what it all really comes down to is self-worth. Right now, I'm stuck dealing with something I let happen. Something I did, or do, or might do again. As much as I hate myself for it, and as much as I swore I never would, I did it. It's scary as hell. I'm ashamed. I'm terrified. But I'm hell-bent on not letting myself sink so low that it becomes acceptable.
It's not acceptable.
It's not acceptable.
It's not acceptable.
I'm a little nervous; this is something I feel like I should keep to myself and brave alone. I don't know that I can tell anyone, at least not right now. Maybe a couple people, but definitely not everyone. I really have no shame about other things I do (or don't do) but this- this is an entirely different thing. This is something I don't stand for. Something I don't want to be.
Straight from the mind of stephanie. sometime around 10:54 PM 3 Comments, Questions, and Concerns



